Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756 – 1791)

The clarinet quintet - on period instruments!


Gili Rinot  basset-clarinet
Matan Dagan  violin
Tali Goldberg  violin
Rachel Ringelstein viola
Myrna Herzog  cello


It was around 1781 that Mozart met in Vienna the fellow freemason and virtuoso clarinet player Anton Stadler. Stadler's extraordinary playing was acknowledged by Johann Friedrich Schink in his Litterarische Fragmente:

"My thanks to you, brave virtuoso! I have never heard the like of what you contrived with your instrument. Never should I have thought that a clarinet could be capable of imitating the human voice as it was imitated by you. Indeed, your instrument has so soft and lovely a tone that no one can resist it – and I have one, dear Virtuoso; let me thank you. "

Inspired by Stadler, Mozart wrote two musical jewels: the clarinet quintet (refered in his letters as ‘the Stadler quintet’)  and the clarinet concerto, both for Stadler's new basset-clarinet. Completed on September 29, 1789,  when the composer was thirty-three, the clarinet quintet combines the basset-clarinet with a string quartet. The result is a work of tremendous richness, warmth, pathos, variety of musical textures which enables the clarinet player to display great virtuosity. 

 Stadler basset clarinet


Andreas Romberg (1767-1861) - Clarinet Quintet in F Major
Allegro - Adagio: Andante grazioso - Minuetto: Allegretto


Franz Joseph Haydn (1732 - 1809): String quartet in D minor op.42, Hob III: 43
Andante ed innocentemente - Menuet - Adagio e cantabile - Finale: Presto

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart  (1756-1791) - Quintet in A major for Clarinet and Strings, K581 (1789) 
Allegro - Larghetto - Menuetto /Trio I /Trio II - Allegretto con Variazioni

Stadler basset clarinet