Bach - The Art of the Fugue

The Art of Fugue (Die Kunst der Fuge), BWV 1080, is doubtless one of the masterpieces composed by the genius of Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750). In this work, began in 1740 and left incomplete, the composer takes a simple theme in d minor and explores it contrapuntally in every possible way.

Written in separate staffs for each voice, the work was not assigned to any specific instrument. It has been performed by a wide variety of instruments, which include harpsichords, organ, piano, modern and baroque orchestras, string quartet, computer, guitars, brass, recorders, saxophones, viols and baroque strings.




Myrna Herzog - musical director, 

Yasuko Hirata – baroque violin;

Shai Kribus - baroque oboe, oboe d'amore, recorder;

Katya Polin – baroque viola, recorder;

Alexandra Polin – bass viol


The Art of the Fugue“A historical landmark in the performance of the "Art of Fugue" in Israel… we must thank the members of "Ensemble PHOENIX " for the experience (chavaiah).” Hagai Hitron, HaAretz

"I enjoyed it profoundly... Listening with the score in hand, it was wonderful to see how the
ensemble brings this complex musical text to life." Omer Shomrony, Globes

“Great concert/spiritual enchantment and important experience. Beautiful and enlightening.” Yossi Mar Chaim, HaBamah

“It was, indeed, a highly intelligent and professional performance, held together by accuracy, fine musicianship, the beauty and richness of Baroque instrumental timbres and a deep sense of reverence for composer and music. A live performance of this quality brings players and audience together in an experience that reaches far beyond analysis.” Pamela Hickman, Israel early music scene