jerusalem from the mount of olives Frederic Edwin Church



Some of the most beautiful and moving arias were written by Johann Sebastian Bach for the alto voice.

 Alon Harari and PHOENIX will present a collection of those, taken from the cantatas as well as from St. John and St. Matthew Passions.

The program is completed by two magnificent trio-sonatas by the great master.


Alon Harari countertenor 
Rachel Ringelstein baroque violin 
Myrna Herzog viola da gamba & musical direction
Marina Minkin harpsichord

On the program


The programs takes its title from the aria Gott, man lobet dich in der Stille zu Zion from Cantata BWV 120, on the text of Psalm 65:1: “God, You are praised in the stillness of Zion, and vows to You shall be fulfilled.”

It gathers arias for countertenor from some of the most beautiful Bach cantatas and his Passions, presented in a chamber version. The texts express the Christian devout’s faith in Jesus,  in whom “the seed of all people is blessed and redeemed”(Cantata BWV200); they describe “the night of sorrow” preceding the crucifixion (St. John’s Passion), “weep bitterly with heart and eyes and ask for mercy” (St. Matthew Passion), admonish “an unblemished conscience of clear faith and goodness [that] makes us beautiful before God and mankind”(Cantata BWV24) and long for “sweet peace and quiet rest” in the world to come (Cantata 82).

The program is complemented by two trio-sonatas: BWV 1028, for viola da gamba and obbligato harpsichord, and BWV 1019 for violin and obbligato harpsichord.

The performers Alon Harari, Rachel Ringelstein, Marina Minkin and Myrna Herzog are among Israel’s finest musicians in the early music field.




A Praise to God in Zion                                              תְהִלָּה אֱלֹהִים בְּצִיּוֹן


Ensemble PHOENIX photo Eliahu Feldman lightAria Bekennen will ich seinen Namen (I shall acknowledge His name) BWV 200

Aria Gott, man lobet dich in der Stille ( God, we praise you in the stillness) from Cantata BWV 120 

Sonata in D major for harpsichord and viola da gamba BWV 1028
Adagio – Allegro – Andante – Allegro

Aria Es ist vollbracht (It is accomplished) from Johannes-Passion BWV 245

Aria Ein ungefärbt Gemüte (An unblemished conscience ) from Cantata BWV24

Aria Erbarme dich, mein Gott (Have mercy, my God) from Mathew Passion BWV 244

Sonata in G Major, BWV 1019 for violin and obbligato harpsichord


Aria Schlummert ein hr matten Augen ( Fall asleep, you weary eyes) from Cantata BWV 82