Violin player

Corelli & Followers


Lilia Slavni (Holland) & Ya'akov Rubinstein  baroque violins 

Marina Minkin harpsichord

Myrna Herzog viola da gamba


Our program is a dialogue between Arcangello Corelli, his contemporaries and two suceeding generations of European composers marked by his music. 

Corelli's music made a true revolution in the European scene, revealing new possibilities, prompting composers to relate to and explore in depth the genres of continuo sonata, trio-sonata and concerto grosso. His trio-sonatas are considered the culmination of the genre, and in his time were extolled throughout Europe: 
"If music can be immortal, Corelli’s consorts will be so” - Roger North, 1710

In addition to Corelli's "immortal consorts",  Ensemble PHOENIX presents several of the outright homages made to him by composers of different lands: Couperin's Apothéose de Corelli [France],  Telemann's  Corellisierende sonaten [Germany],  Veracini's
Dissertazioni sopra l’Opera Quinta del Corelli [Italy].
We shall hear also his influence expressed in the music of composers such as Leclair, Marais and Geminiani. 



Ensemble PHOENIX Corelli

 Arcangelo Corelli (1653-1713) - Trio Sonata / Sonata da Chiesa, Op. 3 No. 5 in D minor Grave – Andante- Allegro – Largo – Allegro

* Francesco Maria Veracini 1690-1768)- Dissertazioni sopra l’opera V del Corelli libro I – Sonata 6 in AM
Grave – Allegro – Adagio – Allegro – Largo - Allegro
                             * This has been recently edited and is available at

Thomas Billington (1754-1832) - A harpsichord version of Corelli's Concerto grosso Op.6 No.8 in G minor Fatto per la Notte di Natale 

François Couperin ( 1668-1733 ) : Le Parnasse, ou l'apothéose de Corelli (1724)

Georg Philipp Telemann (1681-1767)- Sonate Corellisante No. 5 in G minor TWV 42:g4 for 2 violins and continuo (1735)
Grave - Vivace - Presto - Grave - Vivace

Jean-Marie Leclair (1697-1764) – Sonata in DM

Marin Marais (1656‐1728) – Les Folies d'Espagne (1701)

Francesco Geminiani (1687-1762) -Trio Sonata No 3 in F major (composer's own 1739 arrangement of his solo Sonata Op 1 No 9 written in 1716) 
Largo – Andante – Allegro


Photo of Ensemble PHOENIX by Yoel Levy